Uploading Files and Folders to OneDrive



Upload your files

  1. In OneDrive, select Upload.


    Note: In the Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome browser, select Upload > Files.


  2. Select the file or files to upload.

  3. Select Open.

Screenshot showing Upload selected

Save and open files in your Office apps

  • Select File > Save As > OneDrive - [company name] to save a work file to OneDrive.

    Save personal files to OneDrive - Personal.

  • Select File > Open and then select OneDrive, to open a file saved to OneDrive.

Note: Requires Office 2016.

Screenshot of Excel Save As dialog


Note: You can also upload files by opening File Explorer, selecting the files you want to upload, and dragging them to OneDrive for Business.


Upload folders in Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome

  1. Select Upload > Folder.

  2. Select the folder.

  3. Select Upload.

Upload folders in other browsers

  1. Select New > Folder to create a folder.

  2. From the folder you want to upload, select the files. 

  3. Drag and drop the files into the new folder you created in OneDrive.



Creating Files and Folders in OneDrive



With your files saved to OneDrive, you can create files and folders to manage your work.

Create a file in OneDrive

  1. Select New and choose the type of file you want.

  2. To rename the file, click the file name in the title bar, for example Document, and then type a name.

    All changes are automatically saved in the Office online apps, so when you go back to OneDrive, your new file is already saved.

Create a file in an Office desktop app

  1. Open a desktop app, like a Word, Excel , or PowerPoint.

  2. Select File > Save As.

  3. Select your OneDrive work or school account.

  4. Type a name for the file and select Save.

Create folders

  1. Select New > Folder.

  2. Type a name for the folder and select Create.

  3. Select the files you want and drag them into the folder.



Restoring Deleted Files in OneDrive



When you delete a file or folder, it goes into the Recycle bin, where you have a chance to restore it.

Delete files

  1. Select the file or files you want to delete.

  2. Select Delete. The files move to the Recycle bin.

Restore files

Select the Recycle bin.

  • If you want all of your files back, select Restore all items

  • Or, select only the files you want and click Restore

The file is returned to its original location.

Note: If you're signed into OneDrive with a Microsoft account, items in the recycle bin are automatically deleted 30 days after they're put there. If your recycle bin is full, the oldest items will be automatically deleted after three days. If you're signed in with a work or school account, items in the recycle bin are automatically deleted after 93 days, unless the administrator has changed the setting. See more information about how long deleted items are kept for work or school accounts.